Are Part-Time Workers Covered by Workers’ Compensation?
Were you injured at work?
Did your injury result in a significant loss of wages?
Are you having a hard time making ends meet?
Are you wondering if you qualify for workers’ compensation benefits because you’re only working part-time?
Yes, you may qualify for lost wages and workers’ compensation benefits in the state of Colorado! There are some exemptions that include casual maintenance or repair work for a business making less than $2,000 per calendar year. Independent contractors and CEOs can purchase workers’ compensation insurance for themselves, but are not required to do so under Colorado state law.
What Kind of Benefits Do I Qualify For?
According to the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, “Employees who lose more than three shifts or three days of work as the result of an injury or illness may be eligible to receive a form of wage replacement called temporary disability. Temporary disability begins on the 4th day of work loss and must be paid every 2 weeks until terminated in accordance with state law. There are two types of temporary disability and corresponding benefits:
Temporary Total Disability (TTD)
- Due when the injured worker is temporarily but totally disabled and unable to earn wages
Temporary Partial Disability (TPD)
- Due when the injured worker returns to work before reaching MMI
- Due when the injured worker is not released to usual duties or returns to modified duty with reduced wages or hours
- Due when the injured worker is earning less than the average weekly wage (AWW)”
After an injury, you probably have many questions about the process and your rights. Talk to an experienced attorney about your rights to ensure that you’re protected every step of the way
At Kaufman & Kaufman, LLC. our Colorado workers’ compensation attorneys can help you file a claim and ensure that your rights are protected. We’ve been helping injured workers fight for their rights for more than five decades. Regardless of your situation, you deserve your legally owed compensation, and you shouldn’t have to fear that you won’t be able to provide for your family.
Give the Colorado Workers’ Compensation Attorneys a Call Today!
Let our lawyers do the hard work and fight for you. Almost no case is too small for our team. If you think you’re owed compensation, call (970) 945-2396 now to schedule your FREE initial consultation with our Colorado workers’ compensation attorneys.